Pudding of Anniversary

P1160903A I am celebrating the Anniversary of Andrews’ blog that I been running it over a year now, obviously is celebration piece on the table as well for a treat after the New Year’s day of 2014. I am thanking to readers of my blog, hoping to share more recipe and household tips in here, I do love to hear your story of your cookery.

Pudding always wasn’t is my first choice of dessert. I remembered there was day, Doris treated me one pudding that she made, and insisted it and she wasn’t tell me what is that until I gave her my feedback of the dessert – it was wonderful dessert! It changed my mind ever since.

I use bread for this pudding, being Christmas just few days ago I have some left over pandoro, I use that as the layers of the cake, and sandwich it with cream then leave it in the fridge until it set.

  1. Cut the pandoro about 1cm thick, tightly lay the bottom of the 18cm springform tin. Tear off pieces to fit so that there are no gaps. It is like doing golden patching work that made out of cake.
  2. Now whisk the eggs and sugar until very frothy and increased in volume and lightness, by either electric whisk or freestanding mixer.
  3. More slowly, whisk in the mascarpone and double cream until the mixture is thick and spreadable. Remove about 150ml (a cupful for the topping later, cover it and keep in fridge until you serving it)
  4. Tip in about 50g of chopped pistachio into big bowl of mascarpone cream mixture, follow by chocolate chips. Use half of this creamy filling to top the pandoro layer that is lining the cake tin.
  5. Use another third of the pandoro slices to cover the cream filling, again leaving no holes for the cream to escape through. Dampen with another 2 tablespoons of orange juice.
  6. Spoon on the other half mixture and spread it evenly. Then top with a third and final layer of pandoro, covering the cream as before and drizzle over it the last 2 tablespoons of orange juice.
  7. Cover tightly with clingfilm, pressing down on the top a little, and put in the fridge overnight or for up to 2 days.
  8. When you ready to serve it, take it out from the fridge, unmould  and sit it on a flat plate or cake stand, then spread with the reserved mascarpone mixture. Don’t try to lift the cake off the base, as the pandoro slices at the bottom are too delectably damp.
  9. Scatter the top with chopped pistachio, chocolate chip (if you wish too, I do like the green of the pistachio on top because not much cake got the natural green on the topping)

This is one of the versatile pudding you can make from any anything you like. I going to have another slices now. Bon Appétit!

One thought on “Pudding of Anniversary

Leave a comment